Bouncing Back

I see a lot of people start blogs. I also see those blogs more or less abandoned within a few posts. (I can only guess–maybe it’s just a long hiatus.) And I don’t blame any of them, really. I think keeping one of these updated is pretty challenging. You’d think that things that happen in everyday life serve as good posting topics, if nothing else, but I’m finding that things become part of a routine faster than you can type sketch them in words.

Which still doesn’t really excuse a two-posts-a-month schedule when the author is pretending to keep a semblance of a living blog. All of my writing time’s been going into essays and that little project I mentioned a while back, but I miss writing doodly posts like the ones I had over summer. If you want it badly enough, you’ll get it. Or so they say. Or maybe I have the quote wrong. But my point is that I’m really wanting to write normal posts, so I’ll be somehow creating time to do that in the coming days.

If you’re curious about my exciting college life, it’s been a less-than-stellar week for me: filled with ugly weather, a brutal midterm, a ticket for a red light that I’m pretty positive that I didn’t run two weeks ago,  and a 41-0 blowout on the football game against Stanford. I live pretty positively, but I can’t defend this week from its failure to be awesome. I don’t mind too much, though, because cool things do happen during bad weeks. Which is why I got to meet some of my favorite people in the world yesterday, and this dropped today, among other things.

I promise the next post will be more substantial than this. I do believe that I’ve run the course of how long I can take this one without rambling more. On Halloween night, for goodness’ sake.

4 thoughts on “Bouncing Back

  1. I have a thing about the growing number of blogs that are being started…I’ll write about it soon enough, I suppose.
    Not this month though. At least now I have an excuse not to write for real :P

  2. I 100% understand what you mean. I’m constantly looking at other blogs, keeping up to date on the news and even asking some of my girlfriends what I should write about. I think next I might do a post that looks like something you would find on Hyperbole and a Half. Maybe you could try that :) You could draw a couple of pictures on your down time. With you way of speech, it would probably be an awesome post :)

    Also you could try lists (some specifically geared for the upcoming holiday season), picture posts (ex.The Chive) or try plinky.com.

Leave a Reply

